Call Center:
(+998) 78 150 38 38

Religion

According to official data, Muslims – 93% (mainly Sunni of the Hanafi madhhab, the number of Shiites does not exceed 1%, they are concentrated in the Bukhara and Samarkand regions), Orthodox Christians – 4% (the proportion of Orthodox is steadily decreasing due to the emigration of Russians, Ukrainians, Belarusians and others), the remaining 3% are Roman Catholics, Korean Christians, Baptists, Lutherans, Seventh-day Adventists, Evangelical Christians and Pentecostals, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Buddhists, Baha’is, Hare Krishnas and atheists. During the Soviet period, religious organizations were, as in the whole Union, persecuted – many religious buildings were destroyed (for example, in 1980 there were only 89 mosques in the republic). Since the late 1980s, the government has become better to treat denominations, while maintaining the secular nature of the state. The change in state policy was expressed in the transfer of confiscated property to religious organizations (not only Muslim ones), and sometimes in construction at the expense of religious buildings. For example, in the late 1980s – early 1990s, the Panjob Mosque in Samarkand was restored and transferred to believers of the local Iranian community by state money, Torah scrolls were transferred to the Bukhara Jews from the museum, the German cultural center received the Tashkent Evangelical Church, the Roman Catholic parish was returned Polish church, etc.

According to official data from 1 June 2010, 2,225 religious organizations of 16 different religious denominations were officially registered in Uzbekistan:

  • Islam – 2050 (mosques, religious educational institutions, Islamic centers),
  • Christianity – 175 including:
  • Korean Christians – 52
  • Orthodox – 37
  • Baptists – 23
  • Pentecostal (full gospel) – 21
  • Seventh day Adventists – 10
  • Catholics – 5
  • Lutherans – 2
  • New Apostolic Christians – 4,
  • Armenian Apostolic Church – 2,
  • Jehovah’s Witnesses – 1,
  • Church of the Voice of God – 1,
  • Inter-confessional biblical society – 1
  • Judaism – 8
  • Bahá’í – 6
  • Hare Krishnas – 1
  • Buddhism – 1.

It is noted that attendance of mosques is high, especially among young people, who make up the majority of worshipers.

From Christian denominations on the territory of Uzbekistan officially operate:

  • Russian Orthodox Church (Tashkent and Uzbekistan Diocese),
  • Roman Catholic Church,
  • Armenian Apostolic Church,
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church,
  • Union of Churches of Evangelical Christian Baptists,
  • Center for Full Gospel Christian Churches.

 

According to estimates, there are up to 10,000 Bukharan Jews and Ashkenazi Jews in Uzbekistan. Jews are concentrated in the cities of Tashkent, Bukhara and Samarkand. Over the past 20 years, over 80 thousand Jews emigrated to Israel and the United States, which was primarily due to economic motives.

The Constitution of the Republic of Uzbekistan declares freedom of conscience for all. According to the Constitution, everyone has the right to profess any religion or not to profess any. The imposition of religious beliefs is also unacceptable.

Call Center:
(+998) 78 150 38 38

Религия

По официальным данным, мусульмане — 93 % (в основном сунниты ханафитского мазхаба, численность шиитов не превышает 1 %, они сконцентрированы в Бухарской и Самаркандской областях), православные — 4 % (доля православных неуклонно снижается, что вызвано эмиграцией русских, украинцев, белорусов и др.), остающиеся 3 % — это римские католики, корейские христиане, баптисты, лютеране, адвентисты седьмого дня, евангелические христиане и пятидесятники, свидетели Иеговы, буддисты, бахаисты, кришнаиты и атеисты[43]. В советский период религиозные организации подверглись, как и в целом по Союзу, гонениям — многие культовые здания были разрушены (например, в 1980 году в республике было лишь 89 мечетей). С конца 1980-х власть стала лучше относиться к конфессиям, сохраняя светский характер государства. Изменение государственной политики выразилось в передаче религиозным организациям (не только мусульманским) конфискованной собственности, а порой и в строительстве за государственный счет культовых зданий. Например, в конце 1980-х — начале 1990-х годов была на государственные деньги отреставрирована и передана верующим местной иранской общины мечеть Панджоб в Самарканде, бухарским евреям переданы из музея свитки Торы, немецкий культурный центр получил Ташкентскую евангелическую кирху, римско-католическому приходу вернули Польский костел и т.д.

По официальным данным на 1 июня 2010 года в Узбекистане были официально зарегистрированы 2225 религиозных организаций 16 различных религиозных конфессий:

  • ислам — 2050 (мечети, религиозные образовательные учреждения, исламские центры),
  • христианство — 175 в том числе:
  • корейские христиане — 52,
  • православные (РПЦ) — 37,
  • баптисты — 23,
  • пятидесятники (полного Евангелия) — 21,
  • адвентисты седьмого дня — 10,
  • католики — 5,
  • лютеране — 2,
  • новоапостольские христиане — 4,
  • Армянская Апостольская церковь — 2,
  • свидетели Иеговы — 1,
  • церковь голоса Божия — 1,
  • межконфессоинальное библейское общество — 1,
  • иудаизм — 8,
  • бахаи — 6,
  • кришнаиты — 1,
  • буддизм — 1.

Отмечается, что посещаемость мечетей высокая, особенно среди молодёжи, которая составляет большинство молящихся.

Из христианских конфессий на территории Узбекистана официально действуют:

  • Русская православная церковь (Ташкентская и Узбекистанская епархия),
  • Римско-католическая церковь,
  • Армянская апостольская церковь,
  • Евангелическо-лютеранская церковь,
  • Союз церквей Евангельских христиан-баптистов,
  • Центр церквей христиан полного Евангелия.

Существуют оценки, согласно которым в Узбекистане насчитывается до 10 тысяч бухарских евреев и евреев-ашкеназов. Евреи сконцентрированы в городах Ташкент, Бухара и Самарканд. Свыше 80 тысяч евреев за последние 20 лет эмигрировало в Израиль и США, что было обусловлено в первую очередь экономическими мотивами.

Конституция Республики Узбекистан декларирует свободу совести для всех. По Конституции каждый имеет право исповедовать любую религию или не исповедовать никакой. Также недопустимо принудительное насаждение религиозных взглядов.