16 September 2019

Uzbekistan became a member of the Turkic Council

On September 14, President of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev signed a law ratifying the Nakhichevan agreement on the establishment of a Cooperation Council for Turkic-speaking states (Nakhichevan, October 3, 2009).

Council members are 4 countries: Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkey. Hungary has observer status. The structure of the organization includes the Council of Heads of State, the Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs, the Committee of Senior Officials, the Council of Elders of Turkic-speaking States and the Secretariat, located in Istanbul.

Baghdad Amreyev, Secretary General of the Turkic Council, called the entry of Uzbekistan into the organization a historic event and expressed confidence that this would give impetus to the Council’s activities and strengthen cooperation between Turkic-speaking countries and also said that Shavkat Mirziyoyev would arrive at the 7th Summit of the Turkic Council on October 15, 2019. in Baku.